Living with Dyslexia in Malaysia

My new compost bin

 

My New Compost Bin – Cho Suet Sen

I got into the organic movement by chance ie. in 1998 when Cetdem advertised for a volunteer to take down the minutes for one of their seminars.  As I have just completed my studies and was rather ‘free’ I volunteered.

After the 2 days’ seminar whereby I met up with the MARDI people and farmers, I was ‘hooked’. I signed up for Cetdem’s   2 days’ organic courseat Rimbun Dahan and since then there is no turning back.  I held a luncheon at my place in March 1999 whereby CETDEM members and my Mothers’ Group participated. There was a big turnout of 36 people that day to see a demo by Ms. Tan on composting plus an organic slide show.

My whole garden has been organic since 1999.  I was so enthusiastic that one wooden compost frame was not enough so I made do with another 10 sugar bags as alternatives to compost bins. My first year’s harvest saw 8 inch chillies and 2 kgs papayas. I had 12 chilli plants  and did not buy any chillies for more than a year then.

Now my husband, Yip has rekindled my flame for the organic movement by building me a new compost bin.  6 ft by 4 ft  by 3 ft high -divided into 2 compartments.  For ease of turning the compost, he made the top and front side easier to remove via sliding in of the planks one by one. He drilled holes in the planks for aeration. (Photos attached).

My garden has 18 different types of fruit trees, easily 15 types of herbs, not forgetting the numerous veggies at my back lane and in front of the playground.  I have lots of ‘free’ land at my disposal.

My husband is an animal lover and he has 3 big cages filled with Bantam chickens, parrots, merbuks and pigeons. He also has 6 ponds filled with carps, parrot fishes, goldfishes, catfish and guppies.  Let’s not forget his 5 ‘punky’ guinea pigs and 2 dogs. All the animal wastes can be used for composting.

I am very lucky that I have such a supportive husband and enough land to practise organic gardening plus advice from CETDEM and all its members.  Hurray to organic gardening!

June 13, 2007 - Posted by | Organic Gardening

5 Comments »

  1. Hi Suet
    You are one busy lady!
    I have just moved to Johor from Singapore and in a few months will have my own garden space: intending to grow vegetables, herbs and fruit in all the space available, organically.
    This 13 June 2007 post has no photos and I would be grateful to see the new compost’bin’ as this will be a definite feature in my gardening.
    Kong Hei Fatt Choy!

    Comment by Compline | February 7, 2008 | Reply

  2. Hi

    I bumped into your article while looking to buy a compost bin. I am currently using my homemade bin for my kitchen waste. Before that, good job on organic farming and I am a big fan too. At least to reduce waste from my household.

    Back to my question, would you know where can I get to buy a decent compost bin? Thanks for the advice.

    Comment by Fred | February 2, 2009 | Reply

    • Hi I just got information that there readily layer compost bin supplied by Hijaukembali. For more info visit http://hijaukembali.webs.com.

      Suet, I support your movement. If only I have my own garden!!

      Comment by Ophie | August 10, 2009 | Reply

      • Thank you for the information on hijaukembali. I have e-mailed them and can’t wait to finally get started with composting.

        Comment by Shahareen Begum | October 25, 2009

  3. Hi.

    What luck coming across your article. The comment by Ophie in answer to a query re: compost bins in Malaysia was very helpful. I have contacted hijaukembali and am looking forward to their reply.

    Again, thank you very much.

    Regards & best wishes,
    Shahareen

    Comment by Shahareen Begum | October 25, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

